Dog Dayze

Personal musings of living with depression in the modern world

“Hold on a minute…” The trouble with procrastination

on December 13, 2012

The trouble with procrastination is that it is not a motivator.
It’s been a while since I updated this. It started with a desire need, to start a blog. I wrote a few (in my opinion) humble posts, and felt happy I’d added something worthwhile to the world. You know, In my own sort of way. And then…

*sound of crickets chirping*

…Yup, nothing! Happily content, I got bored and I lost motivation.
“Good one Sam!”

Yet oddly enough, this just seems to be how I function.
I love to try new things. This year I:
•Restored a bicycle by hand.
•Built a go kart.
•Designed and landscaped a garden.
•Took up surfcasting.
•Learnt to fly a plane
•Painted a canvas
•Tried to learn the guitar
And many other things. And for the majority of these things, I have to be honest and say that I really kicked arse! When I put my mind into ‘A Project’, I like to put out a quality product. My Dad taught me that.

So what’s the problem? Well…

I . GET . BORED

Yep, you guessed it. Stupid right? But its the truth.
I’ve always been afraid that this meant I was flaky. Or unreliable even. But lately, I’m feeling ok about it all.
I guess the moral for me is that i have no idea what i really want to do with my life. But that ISN’T a bad thing!
Because everything I do, I enjoy! Not necessarily the during the task itself, but the finished result. Because when you have depression, you won’t always enjoy things. And you often may feel the need to give up. But persevering through, even when nothing seems to bring joy… Is the best reward you can get.
It shows inner strength. The ability to say “Yes I do have a mental illness. And I accept that. And I accept that even though things feel horrible now, I can take positive actions to help myself”.
So when the times are good again, you can look back and go “fuck yeah!”.
Sounds fruity, but it’s very empowering.

Speaking of… Snapshot of the last 3 months:
•Wrecked my bike.
•Legal battle with my Insurance company.
•Purchased new bike.
•8 weeks of illness.
•Knee injury and some more expensive bad luck on the bike. But…

    I completed the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge in 6:20:30

160kms. My longest, toughest, hill ride ever.

Just goes to show huh

Sam

20121214-004508.jpg


Leave a comment